SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index
SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index  »  DOWNHILL / SPEEDBOARDING / LONGBOARDS  »  short for long
Page 1 of 2    Goto page 1, 2  Next

short for long

stalker
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:33 pm Reply with quote
maybe ot, but i've been skating a long board (43'') for about three years, and have recently switched to a deathbox hackett. i've been playing around on it for a week now, street only (there are NO trannies round here). man, that thing is short. i'm using 65mm kryptos and some old 9'' indies w/ soft bushings. any recommendations on this setup? any suggestions on riding style? i'm a little unhappy about the narrow stance, i could ollie my longboard, but can't get down with it on the db, feels like a whole new move. i know practice will do, but any tips for riding a short board? thx, stalker
Stubbs
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:07 am Reply with quote
You ruined yourself on the longer wheelbase. I know because I did the same thing years back. I am not comfortable on anything below about 17.5". You can get your short board ride feeling good again but it's going to take some time with that board by itself for a while.
letsgoskatepool
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:33 am Reply with quote
stubbs, i totally agree. i used to ride short wheelbased boards for the longest time, but once i started learning about what is out there, my wheelbase has grown. but what i have found is that i am having a lot more trouble navagating tight pools with an 18" wheelbase! right now my TPS model, which i use for my pool missions, feels tiny! but i have been making myself use it as the pool season begins to come around.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ShackleMeNot
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:27 am Reply with quote