SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index
SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index  »  MUSICIANS CORNER  »  anyone here play bass guitar?
Page 1 of 2    Goto page 1, 2  Next

anyone here play bass guitar?

big.kahuna.burger
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:03 am Reply with quote
ORDER OF THE SKULL ORDER OF THE SKULL
Joined: 19 Jan 2002 Posts: 15613 Location: Melbs dude... Melbs
i'm just starting out, and looking for suggestions on bass pedals.

anyone have any preferences for a compression/distortion pedal that dirties up the sound without losing bottom end?

oh yeah... Epiphone Thunderbird IV is the bass i have settled on. and sound-wise i'm starting small with just a 60W practice amp... if i get into it, ill upsize. but ill need a pedal that will be right on a big setup or small.

any ideas?

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:16 am Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 434 Location: Newport, Australia
Just bought my son a Roland Cube Bass amp 60xl. It has built in compression/overdrive and other effects including a looping function. Great punchy little amp; kill two birds with one stone.

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:45 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 27 Oct 2001 Posts: 63453 Location: S&B HQ
Ibanez Turbo Tube Screamer is a great pedal for bass overdrive. The Carl Martin Bass Plexitone is amazing too.

I play guitar 95% of the time, but when I play bass I play my Spector Rex through a Traynor Bassmaster and Traynor 2x15 cab.

Those Epi Thunderbirds are sic! Good choice.

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:15 am Reply with quote
The Way Huge Swollen Pickle is cool.

I think Tube Screamers are better for boosting an already distorted signal. They are pretty lame as a primary gain pedal...at least for a guitar.

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:43 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 27 Oct 2001 Posts: 63453 Location: S&B HQ