SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index
SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index  »  SNOWBOARDS  »  Retro Sims board bindings?
Page 1 of 1    

Retro Sims board bindings?

BIGJoe29
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:23 am Reply with quote
So I have my dad's Sims 1635 Terry Kidwell board from '89(?) and I am down to ride it, but the bindings won't fit modern boots. I'm new to snowboarding so I don't know, but will modern bindings fit on it? Thanks
zeno01
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:22 am Reply with quote
ORDER OF THE SKULL ORDER OF THE SKULL
It's kind of hard to say if modern bindings would work. In 1995-6ish a 4x4 mounting pattern became standard (except for Burton). Previous to that, it was kind of "wild west" and companies used their own mounting patterns. The 4x4 make it easier for gear to be interchangeable.

Now, I'm not exactly sure how old your board is, but you could, maybe re-drill for modern bindings. Some of the way older boards didn't have the pre-sunk inserts (to screw bindings in to). I'm not totally sure what your working with, so it's hard to say.

Post up a picture of what you've got, and anyone else feel free to correct me. I'm just going off of memory. By the time I started riding pre-sunk inserts were normal, but standard mounting patterns were not in play.

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:56 pm Reply with quote
I'm on my iphone and cannot figure out how to post pictures. Do I have to upload them on a computer?
oldschool2
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:40 pm Reply with quote
thats a pretty collectable board, there is no way i would drill it. it should have the old wide 5 bolt ( 1 in the center and 2 on the inner and outer end of the binding ) pattern so the newer 4x4 pattern bindings wont work. you should be able to find a set of the old bindings rather cheap on the ebay
BIGJoe29
Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:10 pm Reply with quote