SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index
SkullandBonesSkateboards.com Forum Index  »  SCREEN PRINTING  »  Burned on screening
Page 1 of 2    Goto page 1, 2  Next

Burned on screening

dsb-1
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:39 pm Reply with quote
Finished my last box of tees yesterday for the small shop I've been working for, for the past year. Dude is closing the printshop. He owns a retail skate/surf shop and has an indoor park as well. About a year and a half ago I ran into the owner at a contest that was at his park and we were talking. He asked me what I did for a living and I told him I was a screen printer but the shop I worked at had just closed it's doors because of the bad economy blues. He lit up and said " You know how to print shirts ". I told him I'd been doing it for 16 years. He then told me that he had bought a small shop set up, with a 4 color 1 station press and a flash dryer, small exposure unit and some supplies. He said it had been sitting there for a year because no one knew how to set it up and run it. Seemed like the perfect situation for us both.We discussed setting up the shop in the back of the skate park where there was a nice size storage area. He said he would give me $10 an hour to print shirts for his shop with his designs and logos, etc. and that I could use the equip. to print any jobs I wanted to make extra money in exchange for doing all of his stuff for only $10 an hour.. Sounded fair to me, but I told him we needed to buy a small conveyor dryer to get anything done in a timely manner and actually make a little money. He promised to do so ASAP! meanwhile I started printing box after box after box for dudes store. Tee's, Hoodies, Bags, Kids apparel, all kinds of shit. With a flash dryer only and most of the shirts being black with white ink, front/back and sleeve prints. Anyhow, to make a long story short. His entire store is stocked with printed apparel and he seriously has enough stuff to last for a couple of years stashed away in st